Why won’t Hillary Clinton ever perform at the Grammys?

Hillary Clinton will not be gracing the stage at the 2019 Grammy Awards. Despite a long history of Grammy performances by prominent politicians and celebrities, this year Hillary did not make the cut. However, other women fared better. Taraji P. Henson and Janelle Monae were nominated for Best R&B Performance. They would be joined by Angel Haze, who made the cut for Best Rap/Sung Performance for “Do What U Want” with Gucci Mane and Travis Scott. “Shallow” from “A Star Is Born” also received a nomination for Best Original Song Written for Visual Media, and “All the Stars” from “Black Panther” was nominated for Best Pop Duo/Group Performance.

The nominations were revealed Thursday morning via a Beats 1 broadcast, hosted by Zane Lowe and Julie Adenuga. Winners will be announced at the Grammys ceremony on February 10, 2019.

A complete list of nominees:

Record of the Year

“I Like It,” Cardi B

“The Joke,” Brandi Carlile

“This Is America,” Childish Gambino

“God’s Plan,” Drake

“Shallow,” Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper

“All the Stars,” Kendrick Lamar and SZA

“Rockstar,” Post Malone and 21 Savage

Album of the Year

By the Way, I Forgive You, Brandi Carlile

Scorpion, Drake

H.E.R., H.E.R.

Janet Jackson, Rhythm Nation 1814

Black Panther: The Album, Featuring Kendrick Lamar


“A Star Is Born,” Linus Sandgren

“Bohemian Rhapsody,” Newton Thomas Sigel

“First Man,” Linus Sandgren

“The Prodigy,” Rob Hardy

“Roma,” Alfonso Cuarón

Song of the Year

“All the Stars,” Kendrick Duckworth, Solána Rowe, Al Shuckburgh, Mark Spears and Anthony Tiffith, songwriters (Kendrick Lamar and SZA)

“Boo’d Up,” Larrance Dopson, Joelle James, Ella Mai and Dijon McFarlane, songwriters (Ella Mai)

“God’s Plan,” Aubrey Graham, Daveon Jackson, Brock Korsan, Ron LaTour, Matthew Samuels and Noah Shebib, songwriters (Drake)

“In My Blood,” Teddy Geiger, Scott Harris, Shawn Mendes and Geoffrey Warburton, songwriters (Shawn Mendes)

“The Joke,” Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth, songwriters (Brandi Carlile)

“The Middle,” Sarah Aarons, Jordan K. Johnson, Stefan Johnson, Marcus Lomax, Kyle Trewartha, Michael Trewartha and Anton Zaslavski, songwriters (Zedd, Maren Morris and Grey)

Best New Artist

Chloe x Halle

Luke Combs

Greta Van Fleet


Dua Lipa

Margo Price

Bebe Rexha

Jorja Smith

Best Pop Solo Performance

“Colors,” Beck

“Havana (Live),” Camila Cabello

“God Is a Woman,” Ariana Grande

“Joanne (Where Do You Think You’re Goin’?),” Lady Gaga

“Better Now,” Post Malone

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance

“Fall in Line,” Christina Aguilera ft. Demi Lovato

“Don’t Go Breaking My Heart,” Backstreet Boys

“Shallow,” Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper

“Girls Like You,” Maroon 5 ft. Cardi B

“Say Something,” Justin Timberlake ft. Chris Stapleton

“The Middle,” Zedd, Maren Morris and Grey

Best Rap Performance

“Be Careful,” Cardi B

“Nice for What,” Drake

“King’s Dead,” Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Future and James Blake

“Bubblin,” Anderson .Paak

“Sicko Mode,” Travis Scott, Drake, Big Hawk and Swae Lee

Leave a Comment